Honoring Outstanding Alumni and District Supporters

The Tradition of Excellence committee chooses from nominations, persons worthy to be named for Distinguished Alumni, Honorary Diploma and Activities Hall of Fame awards. Recognition of the Distinguished Alumni and Honorary Diploma award recipients is held at the Superintendent’s Dinner and the commencement ceremony.  The Activities Hall of Fame ceremony are held every other year in the fall before and during a Rockford football game.

Nominations are accepted all year long!
A databank has been built over the years of nominees for these three awards. Nomination forms are available on our website (www.rockford.k12.mn.us).

Nominations do not need to be on these forms as they were created to be a helpful guideline for our committee.  You can simply email Kathy Ehlers (ehlersk@rockford.k12.mn.us) the name of the person you wish to nominate and why they should be considered.

Past Distinguished Alumni
2018 – Gloria (Ruter) Hanna (1965)
2017 – Steve Mengelkoch (1968)
2016 – Dr. Alex Knodell (2003)
2015 – Arlene Mutterer (1958)
2014 – Sandra Lupino (1961)
2013 – Dr. Perry Buffie (1982)
2012 – Helen Scharber, PhD. (1999)
2011 – Bernard Lieder (1940)
and Ruth Orrick (1976)

Past Honorary Diploma Recipients
2018 – Steve Huston
2017 – Chuck Grabowski
2016 – Dr. Allen Moen
2015 – Marlys and Gordy Thomas
2014 – Marilyn Nelson
2013 – William Halverstadt
2012 – Erica Cates
2011 – Margaret Gates
and Laura Francis

Past Activities Hall of Fame Recipients
Krissy Toijala (Athlete 1991)
TJ Hanson (Athlete 1985)
Kyle Seiler (Athlete 2005)
Steve Voss (Band Instructor)
Maurice Melchert (Coach)

Mark Anderson (Athlete)
Karlee (Simonson) Anderson (Athlete)
Joanna Jahn (Fine-Arts-Drama/Choir)
Rosemary Tabbut (Choral Director)
Gordon Schmidt (Wrestling Coach)

Kari (Bakker) Esslinger (Athlete)
Miles Johnson (Football Coach)
John Klinge (Music/Band Director)
Joel Miller (Fine Arts-Drama/Music)